Tags

, , , , , , , ,

First off, I’m so excited to have the first author interview in this blog.  I would like to welcome Bryna Butler to our first interview session. She is a debut and independent author of The Midnight Series. The series is about Kiera who is a fighting tooth fairy.That’s right, a tooth fairy.

Scarlet Kira: Thank you so much for agreeing to be here in Books for the Insomniac. I’m really thrilled  to do is.  I have multiple questions I would love to ask but  right now, I’m curious about tooth fairies. We have an influx of vampires and werewolves books so I’m curious to what make you choose tooth fairies as your central characters?

Bryna Butler: I wanted to do something different. Opposites are a strong theme throughout the book and that started from day one. I knew that I wanted to write a novel with a strong, supernatural female character, so I asked myself, what supernatural creature is the complete opposite of that image?

SK: I think you made an excellent choice. Tooth fairies are the last supernatural creatures that I would think of as strong. What kind of research did you do?

BB: I was already a fan of the genre, so I re-read my favorites and took notes on what I liked most about them and why. I read interviews with ya paranormal authors and studied articles on common mistakes that authors make. I also poured over books on the tooth fairy and Atlantis, but in the end, I set those aside. That’s the cool thing about fiction. You get to let your imagination take over.

Sk: The mythology about Atlantis is really unique in your story. Atlantis in your book is seeing as a dark place and its sinking was cause by people, not nature which contrasts popular belief. How did you come up with that?

BB: From the very early stages of this book, it was important to limit mogdoc access to humans. The idea that they lived outside our world or in a pocket dimension fit well for my needs. Also from the start, I envisioned the mogdocs to be a very old race. When I put those two things together, I thought of Atlantis, but I still wasn’t convinced. I did some reading on the subject and soon found that the legend of Atlantis has ties to lore across the country, including a connection to Great Serpent Mound which is a historical site in southern Ohio. That made it the perfect home for the Mogdoc Empire.

SK: The book is set in a small town, did you grew up in one?

BB: I sure did. I’ve lived in rural, southeast Ohio all my life. In fact, the Hayes Farm is inspired by my family farm on the banks of the Ohio River.

SK: It’s really great to know your firsthand experience can influence your book. I know you are an indie author, so what advice would you give to inspiring authors who are hesitant in self-publishing their book?

BB: LOL. I AM one of those hesitant authors. I fretted over it for months. In the end, I made the decision to self publish because I realized that I was doing it for my love of stories. I was doing it for the experience, not the money. If that’s you, and you’re willing to work hard, self-publishing can be amazing.

SK: When can we expect your next book? Would you mind telling us what it might be about?

BB: I’m currently putting the finishing touches on Book 2 in the Midnight Guardian Series. It should be available mid June. Sorry, I haven’t chosen the title yet. I get a little nuts over titles so that usually the very last thing I do. Of course, we haven’t seen the last of Broo. Everyone’s scrambling to interpret the prophecy and stop the new Empress. There’s also a new character named Arden Wright. Arden is a hot, young guardian sent to be Keira’s new mentor. However, one of the things I like most about the second book is that we see a lot more of Ann. She really grows into her new responsibilities as one of Keira’s protectors. I’ve also completed an outline for Book 3 and am working toward a Fall release.

SK: Well, this sounds exciting. I will definitely be picking up a copy when the second book comes out. Once again, thank you so much for providing an insight into  Of Sun and Moon and what goes into creating a story.

BB : Thank you for the opportunity to share my story.

SK: Well there you have it. The first interview conducted here. This book is really great and I recommend buying it. Come and read the Review on Of Sun and Moon.

Of Sun and Moon can be purchase on Amazon, Barnes & Nobles, Smashwords

Follow Bryna Butler’s Blog